top of page

ANOTHER WORLD 213 Carl receives some mysterious information from Lorna


ANOTHER WORLD 213

Carl gets some mysterious information from Lorna

Written By: C. Nathaniel Richardson

Consultants: ML Cooks and A. Washington Beeby

HOSPITAL

John Hudson is in his office and Brianna Jameson

walks in.

Brianna: Hi Dr. Hudson?

John: Yeah come on in.

Brianna: HR sent me.

John: Right. I like to meet all the candidates, well, as many as I can.

Brianna: Right.

John: So I went over your resume, and you did your clinicals at Mass. General?

Brianna: Yes. It was a great experience. I learned a great deal.

John: So what brings you from Boston to Bay City?

Brianna: Boston is a such a big city. I’m a small town kinda gal you know?

John: Bay City General though?

Brianna: Yeah I...heard a lot about this hospital. Never a dull moment. I think you were treated here for malaria.

John: By a guy who shouldn’t have been practicing.

Brianna: Yeah I uh...heard about Fax Newman, too.

John: I see you’ve done your research.

Brianna: Yes sir I did.

John: And since you’ve done your homework, you know that we never have enough good nurses.

Brianna: Very hard to come by in this field.

John: You’re exactly right. There’s been some turnover here and we need somebody who’s gonna stick around.

Brianna: Hopefully Bay City will be a place that I’d like to stay in. A good job could factor into that.

John: A job I hope that you can start today.

Brianna: Today? Does this mean I….?

John: That’s if you want it.

Brianna: I’ll take it! Thank you. I will make my presence felt here. I promise you that.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

OUTSIDE OF JOHN’S OFFICE...Brianna makes a phone call…

Brianna: Mama. It’s me. Yeah I got the job.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

CORY PRODUCTIONS

Amanda and Rachel walk into Matt’s office. Matt is sitting at his desk.

Matt: Hey mom.

Rachel: Hi honey.

Matt: Amanda how was the board meeting?

Amanda walks slowly Matt’s desk and puts papers on it.

Amanda: It was...interesting to say the least.

Matt: What is this?

Amanda: The contract.

Matt: For the merger?

Amanda: Yes.

Matt: Are sure you can trust Iris?

Rachel: I sure wouldn’t.

Amanda: That’s why this contract was drawn up. She has to agree to be the co-CEO of the new company.

Rachel: You’d be having to watch your back so she doesn’t stab you in it.

Amanda: She said she’d think about it, but my offer has an expiration date.

Rachel: You’ve done well Amanda.

Amanda: She needs the connections that we have to grow her brand.

Matt: What are you gonna do when Iris tries to betray you?

Rachel: Carl and I have come up with a plan. Iris won’t betray you.

Matt: What about Paulina and Sandy?

Amanda: My sister and my other brother are okay with it. I’ve gotten their written agreements. I need yours now.

Matt: Well you know you’re also going to need the board to sign off on it, too.

Amanda: That’s the problem. One of the board members retired effective immediately.

Matt: So we can’t execute the deal until we have all seven board members’ signatures.

Amanda: First we gotta find another board member.

Matt gets up and and blinks his eyes.

Amanda: Matt what’s wrong?

Matt: Nothing I just feel a little...hungry.

Matt tries to walk and stumbles.

Rachel: Something’s wrong with you. We need to get you to the hospital.

Matt: Mom.

Amanda: Mom’s right. You need to get checked out.

-------------------------------------------------------

CORY MANSION

Carl opens the front door and Lorna walks in with an envelope.

Lorna: I got it.

Lorna gives him the envelope and Carl reads its contents.

Carl: This is exactly what I was hoping for. Thank you.

Lorna: Are you...ready for your party?

Carl: As ready as I’ll ever be. How’s Devin Lucas adjusting?

Lorna: I don’t think he’s having any problems whatsoever getting acclimated to Bay City.

-------------------------------------------------------

SUITE

Devin Lucas opens the door and Iris walks in.

Devin Lucas: Sorry I haven’t been in touch with you. I went to see my dad.

Iris: Really? About?

Devin Lucas: Just...just some family stuff.

Iris: I’m really really sorry about Carl.

Devin Lucas: Is that right? I thought you’d be jumping for joy being that you tried to shoot him at his wedding.

Iris: I’ve done my time for that. It was a learning experience.

Devin Lucas: And exactly what did you take from it? How to be a better shot?

Iris: I saw the pain on Rachel’s face when I heard her say he had a brain tumor, and she’s already had so much loss in her life, as have I...so yes I’m sorry that your father’s dying. My father died, too.

Devin Lucas: It’s tough, but I didn’t call you over here to give your fake condolences for Carl.

Iris: Well excuse me for being concerned.

Devin Lucas: What did you decide about Amanda’s merger proposal?

CAMERA PAN ON IRIS...SLOW FADE TO THEME SONG

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PART 2

HOSPITAL EXAM ROOM

Amanda waits with Matt.

Matt: Come on Amanda I’m not three you and mom don’t have to wait here with me.

Amanda: Will you let me be concerned about you? I am your sister.

Matt: I’m fine okay. I don’t even know why I agreed to come here.

Amanda: Because mom and I weren’t gonna give up until you did.

A nurse walks in with a chart.

Nurse: This is...Matthew Cory?

Matt: Yep.

Nurse: Is this your…

Matt: Sister.

Nurse: Well sister…

Amanda: Name’s Amanda.

Nurse: Amanda I’ll need you to wait outside. I need to examine your brother.

Amanda: I’ll be right out here.

Amanda leaves the room as the nurse retrieves a blood pressure strap.

Matt: Before you poke and prod me, can I get your name?

Brianna: Oh sorry. My name’s Brianna.

-----------------------------------------

OUTSIDE THE ROOM

Amanda talks to Rachel.

Rachel: How’s Matthew?

Amanda: Stubborn as always. Anything on Iris yet?

-------------------------------------------

Iris: I haven’t decided yet.

Devin Lucas: Well you need to make some type of decision because I’m sure Amanda’s offer’s not gonna stay on the table.

Iris: If I accept this offer, KBAY could become a powerful company.

Devin Lucas: But you and I were supposed to take over the company and make it powerful.

Iris: You have to trust me on this. I have a place for you in the company.

Devin Lucas: Doesn’t it make you wonder why Amanda proposed a merger to you? Out of the blue?

Iris: I’m considering everything here.

Devin Lucas: Sounds like you’re double crossing me.

Iris: No. No that’s not it at all. You have to trust me on this. I know exactly what I intend to do.

Devin Lucas: Which is?

Iris: You’ll have to wait and see won’t you?

Iris leaves and Devin Lucas makes a phone call.

Devin Lucas: Hi it’s me.

The person on the other end is Carl.

Carl: So what happened?

------------

Devin Lucas: She did exactly as you said she would.

-----------

Carl: You can’t trust her, especially when it comes to Cory Productions. Don’t worry son, I’ll see to it that Iris will be neutralized.

------------

Devin Lucas: Are you at home?

------------

Carl: Yes...with your mother.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

CORY MANSION

Carl hangs up and walks back into the living room where Lorna awaits.

Lorna: What do you plan on doing with what I gave you?

Carl: Don’t worry your pretty little head about it.

Lorna: So you’re not gonna let me in on this plan?

Carl: Not completely, but I will tell you that what’s in this envelope has been twenty years in the making. It’s time I finally stick it to Grant Harrison.

FREEZE FRAME ON CARL...SLOW FADE OUT...END OF EPISODE 213


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Unknown Track - Unknown Artist
00:00
bottom of page